Blog Business Entertainment Environment Health Latest News News Analysis Opinion Science Sports Technology Videos World
India: By-polls to 7 assembly seats across 6 states

Himali Bhatia

Sept 5th, 2023

Results to be announced on September 8th, 2023

Voting and Elections a nation to serve as a strength with prominent promises. National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA), against the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). The by-polls have been necessitated by the deaths and resignations of sitting MLAs. The outcome will have implications for the upcoming state assembly elections and the national Lok Sabha elections in 2024.

As six states are gearing up it will be the first show of strength of the Opposition bloc. By-elections were held namely Ghosi in Uttar Pradesh, Dhupguri in West Bengal, Puthuppally in Kerala, Bageshwar in Uttarakhand, Dumri in Jharkhand, and Boxanagar and Dhanpur in Tripura.

Uttar Pradesh

Over 21% of the electorate in the UP, Ghosi Assembly constituency cast their votes in the first 4 hours of polling for the by-election on Tuesday. It's being held at 455 polling stations and will conclude at 6 p.m.


In the Bageshwar Assembly by-election, the voter turnout was recorded at 26.03% while in Tripura’s Dhanpur, it was recorded at 39.48% in the first 4 hours. BJP's Tafajjal Hussain unsuccessfully contested the last assembly election from Boxanagar. The Boxanagar assembly segment has 66% minority voters of a total of 43,087 electors. 

In Uttarakhand

Bageshwar seat, SP, Congress, and BJP will feature a contest against each other. The by-election was prompted by the death of BJP MLA Chandan Ram Dass.The Congress-led United Democratic Alliance (UDF) has fielded Oommen Chandy's son Chandy Oommen while the ruling party CPI(M) has fielded Jaick C Thomas from this constituency.


The seat in Dumri was vacated after the death of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha MLA Jagarnath Mahto. The party is fielding Mahto's wife Bebi Devi in the by-polls representing the INDIA bloc against NDA's Yashoda Devi and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) Abdul Rizvi.

Dhugpuri, West Bengal

The Dhupguri assembly was vacated after the death of BJP's Bishnu Pada Ray. BJP is fielding Tapasi Roy against Trinamool Congress candidate Nirmal Chandra Roy and the CPI(M) candidate Ishwar Chandra Roy. By-election commenced for the welfare of society and people Two parties competed but one won by their past approaches to the people.

Share This Post On

Tags: #news #india #government #elections #states #nationalnews #2024 #2023 #assembly #by-polls2023


Leave a comment

You need to login to leave a comment. Log-in is a Global Media House Initiative by Socialnetic Infotainment Private Limited.

TheSocialTalks was founded in 2020 as an alternative to mainstream media which is fraught with misinformation, disinformation and propaganda. We have a strong dedication to publishing authentic news that abides by the principles and ethics of journalism. We are an organisation driven by a passion for truth and justice in society.

Our team of journalists and editors from all over the world work relentlessly to deliver real stories affecting our society. To keep our operations running, We need sponsors and subscribers to our news portal. Kindly sponsor or subscribe to make it possible for us to give free access to our portal and it will help writers and our cause. It will go a long way in running our operations and publishing real news and stories about issues affecting us.

Your contributions help us to expand our organisation, making our news accessible to more everyone and deepening our impact on the media.

Support fearless and fair journalism today.