Blog Business Entertainment Environment Health Latest News News Analysis Opinion Science Sports Technology Videos World
Indian Government Prohibits 14 Ineffective Fixed-Dose Combination Medications

Over the weekend, a gazette notification was published by the Indian Government banning 14 fixed-dose combinations (FDC) medications that it determined lacked therapeutic efficacy. 

The prohibited combinations include over-the-counter medications for infections, fevers, and coughs, despite claims from industry sources that some of these combinations aren't currently offered on the market.

The Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO) defines Fixed-Dose Combination (FDC) as products with one or more active components utilised for a particular indication or indications. 

On Friday, the Union Health Ministry released a notification regarding this. A committee of experts concluded, as stated in the warning, that “there is no therapeutic justification for these FDCs and the FDCs may involve risk to human beings.”

The prohibition is immediately effective upon implementation of the expert committee's recommendations, which were created to evaluate the efficacy of various drug combinations. 

Under section 26 A of the Drugs and Cosmetics Act of 1940, it is required to forbid the production, sale, or distribution of this FDC in the interest of the general public.


Drugs Banned


  1. Salbutamol + Hydroxyethyltheophylline (Etofylline) + Bromhexine

  2. Ammonium Chloride + Sodium Citrate + Chlorpheniramine Maleate + Menthol (100mg + 40mg + 2.5mg + 0.9mg) , (125mg + 55mg + 4mg + 1mg) , (110mg + 46mg + 3mg + 0.9mg) & (130mg + 55mg + 3mg + 0.5mg) per 5 ml

  3. Phenytoin + Phenobarbitone Sodium

  4. Chlorpheniramine + Codeine Phosphate + Menthol Syrup

  5. Salbutamol + Bromhexine

  6. Paracetamol + Bromhexine + Phenylephrine + Chlorpheniramine + Guaiphenesin

  7. Dextromethorphan + Chlorpheniramine + Guaiphenesin + Ammonium Chloride

  8. Nimesulide + Paracetamol dispersible tablets

  9. Amoxicillin + Bromhexine 

  10. Pholcodine + Promethazine

  11. Chlorpheniramine Maleate + Dextromethorphan + Guaiphenesin + Ammonium Chloride + Menthol

  12. Chlorpheniramine Maleate + Codeine Syrup

  13. Ammonium Chloride + Bromhexine + Dextromethorphan 

  14. Bromhexine + Dextromethorphan + Ammonium Chloride + Menthol


An expert panel established at the Supreme Court's request stated earlier in 2016 that 344 drug combinations were being sold to patients without scientific data. The government then announced the ban on their production, sale, and distribution, and the manufacturers successfully sued to overturn the decision. Of the 344 medication combinations, 14 FDCs that are now prohibited are included.






Share This Post On

Tags: #Healthcare #IndianGovernment #Pharmaceuticals #DrugCombinationBan #MedicationBan #TherapeuticEfficacy #HealthRegulations #Fixed-DoseCombination #PublicSafety


Leave a comment

You need to login to leave a comment. Log-in is a Global Media House Initiative by Socialnetic Infotainment Private Limited.

TheSocialTalks was founded in 2020 as an alternative to mainstream media which is fraught with misinformation, disinformation and propaganda. We have a strong dedication to publishing authentic news that abides by the principles and ethics of journalism. We are an organisation driven by a passion for truth and justice in society.

Our team of journalists and editors from all over the world work relentlessly to deliver real stories affecting our society. To keep our operations running, We need sponsors and subscribers to our news portal. Kindly sponsor or subscribe to make it possible for us to give free access to our portal and it will help writers and our cause. It will go a long way in running our operations and publishing real news and stories about issues affecting us.

Your contributions help us to expand our organisation, making our news accessible to more everyone and deepening our impact on the media.

Support fearless and fair journalism today.