Blog Business Entertainment Environment Health Latest News News Analysis Opinion Science Sports Technology World
IPL Retention 2022

The IPL 2022 Retention ceremony took place on the 30th of November. The present eight teams along with the newly added Lucknow and Ahmedabad will make preparations for the mega auction after this. The Lucknow franchise is owned by the Sanjeev Goenka group, while the Ahmedabad is owned by CVC Capital.

These new teams will have the option of retaining three players each out of the released players by the current eight teams by the end of December. The three players will be composed of a maximum of two Indians and two foreigners.

Four players were allowed to be kept by each of the eight teams: three Indians, two abroad players, and two uncapped Indians.

Mumbai Indians: Mumbai Indians retained the skipper who led the team to victory five times- Rohit Sharma. Along with him, Jaspreet Bumrah, Surya Kumar Yadav, and Kieron Pollard.

The franchise left out All-rounder Hardik Pandya, Trent Boult, and Opening Batsman Ishan Kishan.

Delhi Capitals: The Delhi Franchise left out its captain Shreyas Iyer and experienced Shikhar Dhawan. They retained Rishabh Pant, Spinner Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, and Anrich Nortje.

Kolkata Knight Riders: KKR retained Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, upcoming star Venkatesh Iyer, and pro-all-rounder Sunil Narine. The team owned by SRK released skipper Eoin Morgan and senior players Dinesh Karthik, Shakib Al Hasan, and Pat Cummins. 

Chennai Super Kings:  The 2-time IPL Champions retained Ravindra Jadeja, Skipper MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, and youngster Ruturaj Gaikwad and left out veterans Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, and Suresh Raina.

Rajasthan Royals: RR retained its skipper Sanju Samson, Jos Butler, and uncapped opener Yashasvi Jaiswal. The Team released all-rounder Ben Stokes and top bowler Jofra Archer

Royal Challengers Bangalore: RCB retained skipper Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammed Siraj and released Aaron Finch and Navdeep Saini, while AB de Villiers announced retirement from all forms of cricket recently.

SunRisers Hyderabad: The team retained Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, and Umran Malik.The Hyderabad franchise left out Ace player David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Rashid Khan

 Kings XI Punjab: Punjab Kings have retained Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh for IPL 2022 and released skipper K.L. Rahul, Veteran Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, and Adil Rashid. The PBKS has the greatest salary pool, worth INR 72 crore, while the Delhi Capitals have the smallest, worth INR 47.50 crore, to use at the mega auction.

 Eight of the 27 players that have been retained are from outside of India, and four are uncapped Indians.  We will need to look ahead to the exciting mega auction likely to happen in December for the VIVO IPL 2022.

Share This Post On

Tags: #IPL2022 #IPLRetention2022 #VIVOIPL #IPL


Leave a comment

You need to login to leave a comment. Log-in
TheSocialTalks was founded in 2020 as an alternative to mainstream media which is fraught with misinformation, disinformation and propaganda. We have a strong dedication to publishing authentic news that abides by the principles and ethics of journalism. We are a not-for-profit organisation driven by a passion for truth and justice in society.

Our team of journalists and editors from all over the world work relentlessly to deliver real stories affecting our society. To keep our operations running, we depend on support in the form of donations. Kindly spare a minute to donate to support our writers and our cause. Your financial support goes a long way in running our operations and publishing real news and stories about issues affecting us. It also helps us to expand our organisation, making our news accessible to more everyone and deepening our impact on the media.

Support fearless and fair journalism today.