Blog Business Entertainment Environment Health Latest News News Analysis Opinion Science Sports Technology World
Who will be the next president of India?

The current President of India is Ram Nath Kovind. On July 24, president Ram Nath Kovind's tenure will come to an end. On July 18, an election will be held to fill this post. On July 21, the counting of votes will take place and the new president will take oath on July 25. 


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) - Led NDA announced Droupadi Murmu as a Candidate and Yashwant Sinha. was chosen as the Common candidate for opposition parties for the presidential election in India.


Who is Yashwant Sinha?


Yashwant Sinha is Indian administrator and Politician. He served as the Minister of Finance under Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar from 1990 until 1999. He again served as the Minister of Finance from 1998 to 2002 under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Yashwant Sinha also served as the Minister of External Affairs (2002-2004). He was a Senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party before he left the party in 2018. 


Yashwant Sinha joined All India Trinamool Congress in 2021 and left All India Trinamool Congress in 2022, for being the joint opposition presidential candidate. 


Who is Draupadi Murumu?


Draupadi Murumu is a tribal leader of the party from an eastern Indian state Odisha. From 2015 to 2021, Draupadi Murumu served as the Governor of Jharkhand. She is the first Governor of Jharkhand to complete the five year term and the first person, belonging to a Scheduled tribe, to be nominated to the post of president of India. If elected, Murumu will become the second woman president of India after Pratibha Patil. 


Draupadi Murumu was born on 20 June, 1958, in Baidaposi Village of Mayurbhanj district in Odisha. Before entering state politics, she started out as a school teacher.


The 2022 India Presidential Election will be India's 16th presidential election. The presidential election is not a direct election like the election of MLAs and MPs. The presidential election is elected by an electoral college. The members of electoral college are from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Legislative Assemblies of the states and Legislative Assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry. The members nominated to Rajya Sabha and state legislative councils are not part of the electoral college.


Share This Post On

Tags: Draupadi Murumu Yashwant Sinha


Leave a comment

You need to login to leave a comment. Log-in is a Global Media House Initiative by Socialnetic Infotainment Private Limited.

TheSocialTalks was founded in 2020 as an alternative to mainstream media which is fraught with misinformation, disinformation and propaganda. We have a strong dedication to publishing authentic news that abides by the principles and ethics of journalism. We are an organisation driven by a passion for truth and justice in society.

Our team of journalists and editors from all over the world work relentlessly to deliver real stories affecting our society. To keep our operations running, We need sponsors and subscribers to our news portal. Kindly sponsor or subscribe to make it possible for us to give free access to our portal and it will help writers and our cause. It will go a long way in running our operations and publishing real news and stories about issues affecting us.

Your contributions help us to expand our organisation, making our news accessible to more everyone and deepening our impact on the media.

Support fearless and fair journalism today.