#TrendingNews Blog Business Entertainment Environment Health Lifestyle News Analysis Opinion Science Sports Technology World News
ICC Announces Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 nominee

ICC has unveiled the names of four outstanding players who have emerged as the Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 nominees.

Shubman Gill, Mohammad Shami, Virat Kohli, and Dary Mitchell have been selected as the finalists for the prestigious award.

Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill has made a significant impact in 2023, establishing himself as one of the emerging stars in international cricket. Having participated in 29 matches over the year, Gill has demonstrated exceptional batting abilities and accumulated an impressive total of 1584 runs with a remarkable average of 63.36. What sets Gill's achievement apart is that he now holds the fifth position for the highest run-scorer for India in a single year in One Day Internationals (ODIs). This accomplishment places him among legendary cricketers who have made a lasting impression on Indian cricket.

The young Indian opener demonstrated exceptional performance by scoring an impressive five centuries in the calendar year while maintaining a remarkable strike rate of 100. Gill's position as a dependable player at the top order of the batting lineup played a crucial role for Team India, establishing memorable opening partnerships with captain Rohit Sharma that greatly influenced multiple victories. Although he faced a setback in the ICC World Cup due to an unfortunate about of dengue, Gill displayed his strength and skill by contributing 354 runs with an average of 44.25.

Shubman Gill, in 2023, became the youngest double centurion, a title he earned by smashing an incredible 208 runs against New Zealand in Hyderabad. This historic inning showcased his batting prowess and solidified his reputation as one of the most promising talents in the world of cricket.

Mohammad Shami

Mohammed Shami demonstrated resilience and exceptional performance, culminating in a remarkable display for Team India at the Cricket World Cup. Despite a somewhat average performance in the first half of the year, Shami's resurgence in the second half solidified his position and made a lasting impact on the cricketing world.

The talented fast bowler faced challenges, missing a few matches in the World Cup Campaign. However, once he was included in the playing eleven, Shami turned the tables and ended the tournament as the highest wicket-taker. His exceptional bowling skills played a crucial role in India's success on the global stage. Throughout the year, Shami participated in around 19 matches, displaying his skills by dismissing 43 batters. Additionally, his contribution with the bat, scoring 36 runs, added a valuable all-around dimension to his game.

Mohammed Shami emerged as the leading wicket-taker for India in Men's Cricket World Cups during a phenomenal year in 2023. The seamer's unparalleled success saw him amass an astounding total of 55 wickets in 18 games, placing him in an elite club of only seven bowlers who have taken over 50 wickets in Cricket World Cups.

Virat Kohli

In a remarkable resurgence that validates his esteemed position as one of cricket's foremost batsmen, Virat Kohli demonstrated his aggressive prowess in 2022, reaching the pinnacle of his One Day Internationals (ODIs) performance. His revival culminated in a magnificent display at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, where he secured the prestigious Player of the Tournament title.

The Indian cricket star astounded with an astonishing 765 runs in just 11 innings, surpassing the previous individual record held by the legendary Sachin Tendulkar since 2003. Kohli showcased unparalleled consistency by accumulating an impressive tally of 9 half-centuries. The recognition as Player of the Tournament was a befitting tribute to Kohli's exceptional contributions.

Concluding the tournament with a breathtaking average of 95.62 runs and a formidable strike rate of 90.31, Kohli's campaign included a trio of centuries, with a standout moment being his remarkable hundred in the semi-final against New Zealand, marking his 50th ODI century.

Kohli displayed sublime form, accumulating a staggering 1377 runs in 27 matches and boasting an impressive average of 72.47. His exceptional year included six centuries and eight half-centuries, highlighting his remarkable consistency and excellence that few can match.

Daryl Mitchell

Daryl Mitchell emerged as a force to be reckoned with in ODIs throughout the prolific year of 2023. The dynamic all-rounder showcased his prowess with both bat and ball, accumulating an impressive tally of 1204 runs and dismissing nine wickets in 26 matches.

The year began with the dynamic all-rounder making a stylish start, showcasing impressive skills in the bilateral series against Pakistan and India and later delivering a stellar performance in the home series against Sri Lanka.

However, in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, Mitchell truly excelled, capturing the spotlight. He achieved an impressive total of 552 runs in the tournament, maintaining an extraordinary average of 69 and a striking strike rate of 100. Mitchell's performances were awe-inspiring, and his contribution played a pivotal role in steering the team's fortunes, particularly in the memorable run chase against India.

One of the defining moments of Mitchell's World Cup campaign was his brilliant century against India, where he scored 130 runs off 127 deliveries.


ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Ashleigh Gardner (Australia), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England)

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Mark Chapman (New Zealand), Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Suryakumar Yadav (India)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka), Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)

ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marufa Akter (Bangladesh), Lauren Bell (England), Darcey Carter (Scotland), Phoebe Litchfield (Australia)


Edited by: Kaiyah Ellison

Share This Post On


Leave a comment

You need to login to leave a comment. Log-in