#TrendingNews Blog Business Entertainment Environment Health Lifestyle News Analysis Opinion Science Sports Technology World News
Slam’s Thunder, From The Land Down Under

This year’s first Grand Slam is around the corner and the main round of the event will be played from January 16 – January 29 in Melbourne.

The men's singles trophy is named after Norman Brooks, a three-time Grand Slam and six-time Davis Cup winner and former president of the Australian Lawn Tennis Association.

The women's singles trophy is named after five-time Australian Championship winner Daphne Akehurst, who died at the age of 29

The prize money is one element of the Australian Open that has attracted much attention. For 2023, the prize pool has been increased to $76.5 million.

Spaniard Rafael Nadal will be looking to start the Grand Slam season by defending his title and claiming a record-extending 22nd Grand Slam, while world number one Carlos Alcaraz is aiming for another major title win.

Nine-time champion Novak Djokovic will return to Melbourne after being expelled in 2022 for his presence in Australia stems and not being vaccinated against COVID-19.

However, on his return, the Serb will also look forward to extending his record nine Australian Open titles into double digits this month.

The Serb great, Djokovic, has the most trophies in the men’s singles category, while America’s Serena Williams won the most crowns in Melbourne during the Open era, she achieved seven. She won the first title in 2003 and most recently became famous in 2017 when she was eight weeks pregnant with her daughter Olympia.

We all know that the 2022 men's and women's champions were Rafael Nadal and Ash Barty

This tennis event is constantly evolving, especially recently due to technological advancements. But to know how this game has evolved, there should be systematic data to prove it.

Moreover, the overall picture will be apparent if we observe the data from the previous version of the tournament.

The Grand Slam tennis event before this current season has been held 109 times. This tournament was held for the first time in 1905, and in 1926, it was known as the Australian Championship.

For 42 years then, tennis fans knew it as the Australian Championship. These eras are known as the Amateur era, and the Open era began in 1969 and has been played from 1968-1985 and 1987-2022.

Novak Djokovic is a name closely tied to the history of the Australian Open. King of Melbourne Park, perhaps the most successful on Australian soil. The 35-year-old Serb is the most successful star in AO history. With his incredible nine titles, he owns at least three more than any other player in the tournament's history.

He won the Australian Open in 2008, 2011–13, 2015–16, and 2019-21. The Serb is three open-era titles ahead of the swiss maestro Roger Federer who claimed the titles in 2004, 2006–07, 2010, and 2017–18 in Melbourne.

Coming to the winning percentages in the matches played, the Serbian great Novak Djokovic follows America’s, Jimmy Connors. USA’s Andre Agassi has the highest winning rates of 91.67, 91.11, and 90.57. They have played 11, 82, and 48 matches and have lost only 1, 8, and 5 games, respectively.

In tennis, an ace is a legal service that cannot be attempted by the receiving player and earns points for the server. The server hits the ball with maximum force and can create more chances with ball placement. 

Coming to the most Aces in the tournament until now, the top five players include Swiss Roger Federer with 1,238 aces, Canada’s Milos Raonic with 981, Croatia’s Ivo Karlovic with 943, and in the fourth and fifth position stands America’s John Isner having 786. In contrast, Andy Roddick has 772 aces to their name.

The tennis’ Big 3, Federer, Nadal, and Djokovic, have played a total of 24,135, 18,404, and 18107 points until now and have won 13,218, 10,000, and 10,074 points, respectively,

Moreover, the 20-time Serbia Grand Slam Champion also tops the list of the most goat points in the tournament. He is on the with 83 points, followed by the Swiss great with 73 points and the Spaniard with 44 goat points in the Australian Open. 

These points are awarded for winning a significant match in the final round of a major tournament against a higher-ranked opponent. If the players went on to play in the quarter-finals, Semifinals, or the event's final, they are awarded 1, 2, and 4 points, respectively. However, if the player wins the event's final, he is awarded eight goat points.

Nevertheless, talking about the predictions for this year’s event, Djokovic had won all three previous Australian Open titles before his absence in the last year’s event which is enough to make him a favorite in 2023. 







Share This Post On


Leave a comment

You need to login to leave a comment. Log-in